Understanding Chakras

“The body is the vehicle, consciousness the driver. Yoga is the path, and the chakras are the map”. - Anodea Judith, PHD, author of Wheels of Life

Below are just a sample of some of the qualities that have become associated with the seven main chakras. The following information is drawn from the works of Annodea Judith PHD. I highly recommend her writings, teachings, and exercises for freeing the energy of each chakra. Also, a good overall asana practice will go a long way to promote healthy functioning of all chakras.

Chakra #1 Mudlahara (Root)

Governing physical region - base of spine, coccygeal plexus, large intestine, legs, feet Balanced Function - survival, grounding, prosperity, right livelihood, physical health

Imbalance- obesity, constipation, eating disorders, inability to be still, sciatica, spaciness

Element - Earth

Chakra #2 Swadisthana (Sweetness)

Governing physical region - genitals, sacrum, affecting hips, knees, lower back

Balanced Function - fluidity of movement, pleasure, connection, healthy sexuality and healthy emotions…

Imbalance - stiffness, isolation, sexual imbalances, emotional instability or numbness

Element - Water

Chakra #3 Manipoura (Lustrous gem)

Governing physical region - solar plexus, between naval and sternum

Balanced Function - strength of will, sense of purpose, vitality, personal power

Imbalance - controlling persona, stomach ulcers, can’t slow down, chronic fatigue, digestive problems, too submissive, rage addiction, excessive weight around middle…

Element - Fire

Chakra #4 Anahata - (Unstruck)

Governing physical region - heart

Balanced Function - love, self-compassion, balanced relationships

Imbalance - isolation, low self esteem, collapsed chest, melancholy, codependence

Element - Air

Chakra #5. Vishutha - (Purification)

Governing physical region - throat

Balanced Function - good communication, self expression, creativity, harmony and resonance with self and others

Imbalance - inability to express or release, blocked creativity, sore throats, stiff neck and shoulders

Element - Either, sound

Chakra #6 Ajna - (to know, to perceive, to command)

Governing physical region - third eye (thought to be associated with the pineal and.

pituitary glands) centre of head behind the eyebrows

Balanced Function - visual perception, discernment, intuition, imagination, clairvoyance

Imbalance - headaches, nightmares, hallucinations, poor visual perception

Element - light

Chakra #7 Sariswana (Thousandfold)

Governing physical region - top of head, cerebral cortex Balanced Function - union, understanding, expanded Consciousness

Imbalance - depression, alienation, confusion, boredom, apathy, inability to learn or comprehend, overly intellectual, spacy

Element - Thought (consciousness)

The downward current through the chakras is also vital. It begins with the connection to our highest source (chakra7), then moves into visualization (chakra 6) and communication of our vision (chakra 5), down into the relationships needed (chakra 4), generates the power to do what we have to do (chakra 3), the pleasure and fun in creating (chakra 2 & 3) and finally, into full manifestation on the earth plane (chakra 1)”. - Annodea Judith, PHD, Author of The Wheels of Life
4 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All